Return to Headlines

37th annual Academic Achievement Awards dinner

academic awards dinner

Middletown High School held its 37th annual Academic Achievement Awards dinner on May 8 at Kuhl's Highland House in the Town of Wallkill.

The evening featured more than 260 awards given to MHS students, as well as more than $375,000 in scholasrhip money. The evening concluded with the announcement of the Class of 2019's honor graduates.

Congratulations, MHS honor graduates: Anna Birmingham. Mikayla Bulson, Ciera Carrasquillo, Miranda Cobo, Andrea Cortes, Sara Cruz, Lezai Favors, Adriana Garcia, Liam Hogan, Iyanna Latour-Smalls, Kristian Pacia, Jesus Rodriguez, Michael Russo, Merna Sabe, Angel Star, Collin Strauch, Alexis Vega and Emily Whitby.

Here is a copy of the program, which includes the list of the winners.

See photos from the event.

It was a big night when it came to outside awards. Here is a list of those who received them:

University of Rochester: Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science award: Scott Franco. The award is worth up to $30,000 over four years.

Renssalaer Polytechnic Institute award: Stanley Zhen. This scholarship is valued up to $100,000.

The Rochester Institute of Technology Innovation and Creativity award: Esther Augustin and Stanley Zhen. This award is worth $32,000.

The Rochester Institute of Technology Computing Medal award: Danielle Boucher and Kevin Lindemann.

U.S. Marine Corps "Semper Fidelis" award for musical excellence: Kevin Hyppolite

U.S. Marine Scholastic Excellence Award: Maria Sanchez

Attorney General Triple "C" Award: Miranda Cobo and Sara Cruz

Office of the State Comptroller Student Achievement awards: Abmarie Arroyo, Synthia Beam, Casey Hill, Liam Hogan, Krystian Lopez, Jesus Rodriguez, Emily Whitby

University of Rochester: Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony award in humanities and social sciences: Julia Fitzgerald. She is eligible to be considered for merit scholarships worth at least $10,000 per year.

University of Rochester: George Eastman Young leaders award and scholarship: Joshua Sam. The award is worth at least $40,000 over four years.

University of Rochester: Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology: Sebastian Marquina. This award is worth at least $10,000 per year.

School Activity Treasurer: Sara Cruz

Outstanding School Citizen award: Lani Anderson and Jordan Washington-Allende