• The Dignity for All Students Act

    Smiling teens in outline of New York StateNew York State’s Dignity for All Students Act (The Dignity Act) seeks to provide the State’s public elementary and secondary school students with a safe and supportive environment free from discrimination, intimidation, taunting, harassment, and bullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function. The Dignity Act was signed into law on September 13, 2010 and took effect on July 1, 2012. Amendments to the act are effective as of July 1, 2013

    The original legislation amended State Education Law by creating a new Article 2 – Dignity for All Students.  The Dignity Act also amended Section 801-a of New York State Education Law regarding instruction in civility, citizenship, and character education by expanding the concepts of tolerance, respect for others and dignity to include: an awareness and sensitivity in the relations of people, including but not limited to, different races, weights, national origins, ethnic groups, religions, religious practices, mental or physical abilities, sexual orientations, gender identity, and sexes. The Dignity Act further amended Section 2801 of the Education Law by requiring Boards of Education to include language addressing The Dignity Act in their codes of conduct.

    Additionally, under the Dignity Act, schools will be responsible for collecting and reporting data regarding material incidents of discrimination, harassment, and bullying.

    See the Dignity for All Students Act section of the NYSED.gov website

    Frequently asked questions about the Dignity for All Students Act

  • The District encourages and expects students who have been subjected to harassment, bullying or discrimination; parents or persons in parental relation whose children have been subjected to this behavior; other students who observe or are told of this behavior: and all District staff who become aware of this behvaior to timely report it to the Principal, Superintendent, building Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC) or designees.

    The Principal, Superintendent, DAC or designee will lead or supervise a timely and thorough investigation of all reports of harassment, bullying and discrimination. The DAC, or other individual conducting the investigation, may seek the assistance of the District's Civic Rights Compliance Officer in investigating, responding to, and remedying complaints.

    Are you, or do you know someone, who is experiencing bullying, discrimination, or harassment?